Grumpy Dad’s

Mimi bday 2013 015

 

 

 

 

My father, whom I love dearly, is a true Vermonter!  Officially he’s my stepfather but to me he’s my dad!  He’s in his early seventies, saying that he’s set in his ways is putting it mildly, setting aside his abrasive nature and you’ll discover the lovable and generous man he truly is.  Like most cuddly teddy bears though, he’s got a bite!  He’s been known to snap on occasion, if he’s pissed off the grumpiness takes over.  My mom passed away in March 2015 and he’s felt the burden of loneliness ever since.  I live a few hours away but I call him everyday so we can talk.

Taking care of his health hasn’t been his top priority, this was proven when he had his heart attack two years ago.  Since then he’s been placed on blood thinners and a number of other medications to help with blood pressure, etc… you get the point.  Recently, his doctor told him he needed a sleep study.  Well, Hells Bells!  I’ve been telling him he needs a sleep study for years, but who am I?  Oh, just a daughter who’s worked in sleep clinics for eleven years.  What do I know though?

When it came time for his study, I asked him a few questions.  I wanted to make sure his study went well, and he was prepared for it.  He was having the study at a clinic where I had worked for over seven years, I kinda knew what might happen.  Of course that didn’t go over well as he didn’t think I knew what his study would be like.

My first question was, “Do they know you sleep in a recliner at night and use oxygen?” His response was, “Why the hell do they need to know that?” I explained that if they know in advance, they’ll be prepared and have a recliner in his room as well as oxygen and things would go easier.  Again, I’m crazy and know nothing about the subject. The next question I asked, after he had a sufficient hissy fit was, “Are you going to take your nighttime as well as morning meds with you?”  This, he at least conceded to agree with and admit he hadn’t thought of that.  Oh, I was making strides now and nothing was stopping me!

“Dad, you will need to bring some PJ’s with you.”  He didn’t think that was necessary as he was going to be in a hospital and they would give him, “The nightgown that shows your ass in the back.”  I assured him that he wasn’t in a hospital room, they want him to sleep in what he normally sleeps in and his room would be more like a hotel room than a hospital room.

“Well, that’s stupid!  How are they doing a test on me if I’m not in a hospital?”  I could hear his frustration mounting and knew I only had a moment left before he would tell me, “Let’s talk about something else.” and the topic would be pushed far under the rug where I wouldn’t be able to drag it out again.

I changed tactics to not sound like a nag, “You know the tech that is setting you up might be a hot chick?”  That got his attention and his mood suddenly brightened.  “I know the girls that work there (desperately hoping he’d get one of the female tech’s and not a male) and they’ll take great care of you!”  His response was “Of Boy!” in an excited rumble.

I went on to explain that he would be spending a lot of time with her while she was getting him ready and then she’d be able to see him during the night as they would record his sleep pattern.  “You need to be on your best behavior!”

The hot looking woman had caught his attention but I could sense I was losing him again when his reply was, “Don’t you just never mind, I’ll be just fine and I can take care of the woman.”  “You’d better” I said, “I know them all and if you’re a dick, they will tell me.” Ha! I had him where I wanted him!  He and I both know the clinic has his written consent for me to speak with them, he knew I would find out.

“Yup, well, I gotta go.  Talk to you tomorrow.  Love ya.” Before I could respond, he hung up on me.  Not how I’d wanted that conversation to go. I sighed in resignation, hoping he’d heard some of what I had to say and listened to me.

The moral of the story.  It doesn’t matter whether your my dad or the next-door neighbor.  When you schedule a sleep study, write down what your normal bedtime/wake up time routine is.  Make sure you confirm where you’re going and ask what to bring with you.  Ask the person scheduling your appointment what type of room you’ll be sleeping in, are the beds normal or hospital beds?  If you need to sleep in a recliner, don’t be shy, ask for one!  It’s your health, with this information the odds that things will go right are in your favor and the chances of your having to do a repeat study go down.

Let me know if you have any questions about sleep studies or how to navigate having them.  Plus, making sure your insurance pays for the study!

Sleep Well!!

    

 

 

One thought on “Grumpy Dad’s

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.